Richard Box-Textile Artist

I love this man’s tie/shirt combo. hee!

 

 

After watching Mr. Box’s technique, our class got to try our own hand at it.  It is a lot harder than he made it seem!

 

First, we needed to start out with a basic motif.  I drew mine based on a motif on my friend Sarah’s lunchbox.

 

I traced my motif onto a piece of fabric with a piece of chalk, put it into an embroidery hoop, and stitched away, outlining my bug.  I probably could have used a stabilizer along with the fabric to prevent the fabric puckering.

I liked the doodly quality of the motif, but felt that it wasn’t quite finished yet, so I filled in the wings with a silvery thread.

I thought that this technique is pretty cool.  It will definitely take a while to master it though 🙂


You must be logged in to post a comment.